Beginning the parenting “journey”

Where to start? Well, I took my multivitamins this week. Yep. That’s where I’m at. You can already tell a fair bit about me by that statement. Am I pregnant? No. Do I have a baby? No. Am I trying for one? Not yet. Ridiculous, right? Let me explain.

My aim here is to document all the highs and lows of pregnancy and parenthood, from the very first twinkle in the eye. Today is Wednesday. On Monday, I saw my lovely GP about what I need to do to get started on the whole family thing. I had some blood tests, blushed and looked at the ground when he asked what contraception I was using (then whispered “condoms!” and felt like giggling…), and told me to start taking multivitamins. The proper pink packet ones. I of course had already researched prenatal vitamins, and was pretty set on my selected option (sure, money played a large factor, but seriously Elevit, DOUBLE the price of Blackmores? What are you made of, diamonds?). Thankfully my Dr was happy with either choice, and so on Monday night I dramatically gulped down two capsules, stared into the middle distance and declared: “oooh! Vanilla-ey!”.

So there you have it. This post is the beginning of my journey. I don’t want to ramble on and bore you to tears (that’s for later posts!), so this is just a teaser of the fascinating drivel that’s to come. Hopefully this blog connects to some who are in the same situation as me, some who have been through the rollercoaster already, and others who just can’t get enough of suburban non-drama!

Until next time,

Jane Nester (so obviously my real name…) xx

Leave a Reply

