Parenting & the flu

How I'm feeling, minus the unfashionable beanie. But with the added bonus of no makeup and a far less attractive face. Call it even?

How I’m feeling, minus the unfashionable beanie. But with the added bonus of no makeup and a far less attractive face. Call it even?

I’m sick at the moment. Cough, splutter etc. I had the day off from work in order to try and deal with my attack of the nasties, but unfortunately I’ve woken up this morning feeling worse. It’s one of those things that makes me wonder how I’ll cope when we have kids. At the moment, I basically revert to a 5 year old – whining, feeling sorry for myself, and expecting Mr Nester to do all tasks for me. Choice phrases from me in the last 24 hours:

  • I don’t FEEEEEEEL well
  • I need lollies
  • Get me the remote (while reaching for it, 30cm from my outstretched hand)
  • ernnnnnnnnnnnn – the elegant noise I have been making while pointing to whatever it may be that I desire at that moment.

Delicious, aren’t I? Like I said, it makes me wonder how I’ll be when I have kids. No chance to just hide under the covers for a few days, pretend the mess around me doesn’t exist, and binge watch Grey’s Anatomy. No option of taking an hour long bath while reading trashy magazines, because I just can’t face anything more strenuous. No, I’m going to have to get over it. And I don’t think I’m quite ready for that!

I’m assuming that my supreme powers of awesomeness in the face of sneeziness and never getting sick will just sort of *appear* when I have children. Yes? That’s exactly how it happens? Ok great. For those of you who unfathomably weren’t gifted with these powers, I don’t know how you do it. I really don’t. Let me just say that you’re awesome, and you deserve free coffee for life (high praise!).

As my head is a great big pile of mush, I’m forgetting what I’m writing in an amusingly swift fashion. I said what? Oh right! I should embellish that! Embellish what? What did I just write? And so on, and so on.

So on this rather self indulgent post (because all the others are so different), I will bid you adieu, as I’m currently sneezing all over the iPad and it’s getting hard to see the keyboard. Yum!

Yours rather soggily,

Jane xx

Leave a Reply

