Pregnancy Week 5

Week: 5

Baby: Apple seed size! Again, I seem to be the round thing surrounding it (they’re not wrong)

What I’m cooking: the spine is getting a little more detailed, the circulatory, digestive and nervous systems are developing, as is the stomach, liver, kidneys, and a beating heart!! 

Main symptom: still sleeeeeeepy, although a stuffy nose/onset of a cold is taking the lead. 

What’s on this week: bloods to check my immunities etc, blood type, and a bunch of other bits. 

Week 5

Hello Week 5! We haven’t met before. I’m Jane, pleased to make your acquaintance. I very much hope you’re nice! Please be nice. 

Today I’m 5 weeks and 1 day pregnant, meaning I’m moving ever closer to the safe zone. The odds of miscarriage are dropping pretty dramatically now, which is great, and according to spacefem, my odds are currently at around 15%. Still not as low as I’d like, but much better than a week ago. 

 

Symptoms-wise, I am still stupidly tired, and basically lugging myself through the day until I can crawl back into bed. I’ve had a stuffy nose for about a week now, but there is a bug going around, and today feels a lot more like a head cold. Thankfully my bloating has subsided a little, I’ve worked out it’s mainly down to (ick factor) constipation, again caused by those lovely hormones. 

 

It still feels super surreal that I’m growing another person inside of me, although I’m trying very hard not to stress out about what might go wrong. It’s very easy to fall into that anxiety trap, so my attitude has been forced into the que cera realms, as I don’t see the point in stressing about the unknown, and uncontrollable. 

 

I’m also reading everything I can about Week 5, as I hadn’t let myself get that far last time. The best part so far is that the little diagrams of the embryo are now starting to resemble a creature, and not just a blob or a stick-thing. I’m enjoying the progression from alien to human-ish as the weeks pass. 

my little Grub today, according to Glow Nurture


what Grub will look like tomorrow. See? creature-like!

The last point to be made is: still no morning sickness! Whoohoo! I’ve had the occasional spot of queasiness, and a bit of heartburn, but no hurly hurly just yet. Stay tuned!

 

Jane xx

 

Leave a Reply

