Pregnancy Week 6

Week: 6

Baby: A pea! The preggo apps seem to disagree on size this week, ranging from pea, to blueberry, to a grain of rice. I like the idea of a little pea though, so I’m sticking with it 🙂

What I’m cooking: my little pea’s face is starting to develop, with the eyes, ears and nose forming this week. And, although they’re still basically paddles, the arms and legs are growing and starting to, well, paddle about!

Main symptom: nausea is creeping in, setting in so far at around 6-7pm, and making me regret pretty much anything I ate for dinner. Today it started at 4pm, so it looks like we’re a go for this whole spewy thing!

What’s on this week: nothing! Literally, as I’m on holidays for the week. Basically a countdown until my first scan in Week 7.

My first photo AND info panel, together! What a world :)

My first photo AND info panel, together! What a world 🙂

This week? Honestly, I’ve been struggling to feel like I’m pregnant at all. Yeah I’m having a few symptoms, but they’re nothing too out of the ordinary. Tired, a bit moody, sore boobs. That’s me for most of the month anyway (poor Mr Nester!). I’ve felt so un-pregnant, I’ve had to keep taking pregnancy tests (HAD to, okay?) to remind myself that yes, there’s a little person growing in me. That said, there has been one thing that stood out this week as being a little, well, weird. Call it a side effect, call it a combo of a few pregnancy quirks coming together, but my boobs, um, smell. No, not like that. Not in a bad way. Just weird. Okay, ready? They smell like flowers. I know. Seriously, I know! It sounds a lot like a “my shit don’t stink” kind of thing. It’s also not a “oooh I need a lovely fresh scent. I might just go for a whiff of my norks!”. No, they smell like an old lady’s house – heavy, musky, flowery kind of scent. And it’s not just me – Mr Nester took one sniff this morning and pulled back instantly:

“Yep! Flowers!” and then we both burst out laughing for a while. I even Googled to see if this was a common issue. You’ll love this. I typed in “breasts smell flowery pregnancy”, and do you know what Google gave me? Nothing! Nothing!! Google, why have you forsaken me?

Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself! Or, take a look at this baby:

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 5.36.22pm

I love that last bit – “we have omitted some entries very similar to the 0 already displayed.” Gee, thanks Google. What a huge help you’ve been!

All I could find is that pregnant women have a stronger sense of smell, and later in the pregnancy the old feedbags might start to smell like milk, or musky. That’s I suppose pretty close, but they’re so, so flowery! Crazy.

The last note this week is you might notice in my progress photo I have somewhat shorter hair – I shaved my head for cancer research 2 weeks ago, so I’m just a bit fuzzy now! It was a pretty amazing experience, and we raised over $7,000, so I might look like a bit of a butch pregnant woman for the next few months, but it was well worth it.

Hopefully my next post will give you all the ins and outs of how hugely pregnant I feel, but until then I’ll just be here, peeing on sticks.

Jane xx

Leave a Reply

