Recap: The First Trimester

I thought I’d throw in a bit of a round up of Trimester One, since I’m now officially in Trimester Two! So, to begin with, my photo progression. I started taking these shots in Week 6, and I’m now in Week 13 (last pic is from Week 12, keeping to the 1st Trimester theme)… Have a look!


Week 5 imageWeek 7 imageWeek 8 imageWeek 9 imageWeek 10 imageWeek 11 imageWeek 12 image

I think the biggest comparison is between Week 6 and 12:

Week 6 imageWeek 12 image

Look at that bump! I really didn’t think there was much going on yet, but it certainly shows in this comparison. Also, in total I’ve only put on 1.7kg (3.75 pounds) – I must be much skinnier in some other areas, because my boobs and bump are crazy big from Week 6! It’s quite nice to look at these two side by side, to see how far I’ve come. I really do struggle some days to actually feel pregnant, even though I have the image of our little tumbling Grub in my head from the last ultrasound, it still seems so unreal at the moment.

I can only imagine how I’m going to look at the end of the 2nd Trimester (that seems so far away at the moment!).

There’s my pic recap, I thought I’d also give a quick run-through of my experience with early pregnancy.

Weeks 1 and 2: all about hormones, injections, and ultrasounds to see how my follicles were developing for IVF. Then it was the trigger shot, the egg retrieval (and associated ouch!), the agonising wait to see how the eggs were progressing, and 5 days later the embryo transfer.

Weeks 3 and 4: torture, basically. Progesterone applicators (awful), and two weeks of not knowing if the embryo had implanted, whether I was actually pregnant or not. To make it worse, the progesterone creates many of the early pregnancy symptoms, so I drove myself crazy trying to decipher if what I was feeling was real or progesterone induced. Then, the pregnancy test. I cheated a couple of days before the blood test (I was so good for so long!), and it was positive. I was cautious, as this can be caused by the trigger shot, but each day the tests became darker and darker… Then, the blood test! I waited outside the doctor’s office in the cold for it to open, and then I waited panicked all morning for the phone call. When it eventually came, I nearly dropped the phone. The news was positive positive positive! I was pregnant!

Weeks 5 and 6: spend most of these weeks scared stupid that I would miscarry, checking frantically every time I went to the toilet, expecting to see blood. Also, I slept. A lot. I was a walking zombie.

Weeks 7 and 8: More sleeping, more exhaustion, some nausea (I’ve been very lucky). Still getting used to the idea that I was growing a person, and waiting for the changes to show on my body. Also, the first ultrasound! So incredible to see a heart beat in what was basically a blob, but it was my blob! Much more real, and I was suddenly much less stressed.

Weeks 9 and 10: Still very tired, now with added ravenous hunger! I ate everything in sight, cave-woman style.

Weeks 11 and 12: more of the same really, but with more physical signs – bigger, sore boobs and a magical appearing-disappearing bump. Then, the 12 week scan – seeing our human-shaped Grub bouncing around was beyond incredible. This is actually happening – we have a baby on the way!
And that’s the run through! Week 13 post coming shortly, but who doesn’t love a bit of nostalgia now and then?

Jane xx

9 thoughts on “Recap: The First Trimester

  1. g2the4thpower says:

    Btw – CONGRATS, you survived first trimester! 🙂 this is only my second pregnancy where I’ve made it this far (9.5 weeks now), first via natural IUI, second via total unnatural IVF, and IVF first trimester by FAR does your head in with worry.

Leave a Reply

