Pregnancy Week 17

Week: 17

Baby: An onion – not quite as yummy as the last few weeks, but guaranteed I’ll be eating a lot of Grub this week…sorry Grub!

What I’m cooking: A big ol’ baby! For the first time, Grub is now bigger than the placenta (its evil twin). The brain is also now communicating with the muscles a lot more, which means more concentrated kicks to my tender areas…

Main symptom: Emotions! I’ve always been a bit of a robot where weepiness is concerned, but I’ve been crying at anything that pulls on the heartstrings this week, and when I’m not crying, I’m in a ridiculously good mood. Gooooo preggo hormones!

What’s on this week: Still counting down until the holidays, and this week is the biggie for getting work done. Not a lot of baby related stuff, just lots of regular adult crap.

Week 17 comp

Thankfully this week that flu seems to have started to make its evil way back to germ town, and no longer resides in my chest, head, throat and nose. One of the big symptoms of pregnancy is a constantly stuffy nose (due to increased blood flow, which in turn makes the nose blood vessels swell), and this coupled with a real cold has been no fun at all. I’m coming out of the haze now, and I’m very much hoping that I’ve now had my cold of the year – the rest can bugger off, please.

I was off to prenatal yoga again this week, which was again a great way to unwind, stretch out some sore muscles, and realise how weak my thigh muscles are. A lot of prenatal yoga is to do with breathing, but also with strengthening the muscles that you’re going to need in labour. Apparently squats are vital (I’ll report back on that in 6 months), and my poor legs haven’t been subjected to a squat in quite some time. Cue lots of wobbles from my side of the room as my legs spasmed frantically under the strain of doing any exercise. I’m planning to do a lot more so I can wow the instructor next time. That said, that ice-cream over there does look good…

The other excellent part of prenatal yoga is the breathing exercises. Sure, we do the deep breathing, yoga style, but this week we also looked at making noises as a focusing technique. Basically this involved a roomful of very rounded women making “shhhhh” noises for half an hour. Surprisingly, I found it helped quite a bit, especially when I wanted to give up on the stretch that was making me shake like a jelly. You “shhh” or hum on the exhale, and it helps in relaxing as well as focusing.

I’ve found a video on the “humming bee breath”, but I can’t find anything on the “shhhh” breath (although there’s a few references to it if you have a look at vinyasa flow yoga). Have a look below (we didn’t put our fingers in our ears!)

I’ve just realised I’ve spent pretty much this entire post on yoga – can you tell I’ve had an exciting week?

I’ve also done a bit more shopping this week, as the end of financial year sales are on. I’m still holding out on the big items, but I’ve read amazing things about Aden+Anais swaddle wraps, so I splashed out and bought a couple. Along with that, I got an “easy swaddle” from the same site, as I have a funny feeling it’s going to take me a few goes to get this swaddling this right…

the swaddle wraps

the “easy swaddle”

While I was there, I also grabbed some baby scratch mittens (they are impossible to find in chain stores!), and I also splashed out on this little item, as it was on sale today:

it’s. just. so. damn. CUTE!

So I may have gone slightly crazy this week with shopping. I’m dying to get the nursery together, and I have to wait until the holidays when Mr. Nester can help me get the sofa bed out and into the lounge room, before we can put the cot together and really start getting the design going. I want it now!

See you at Week 18 (in a day or so if I can get organised enough to post on time for once!),

Jane xx

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Week 17

Leave a Reply

