The Glucose Tolerance Test

Friday was the hospital appointment I wasn’t looking forward to – the glucose test, to check for gestational diabetes. For those of you who haven’t been subjected to one of these, they vary in length, from a one hour to a three hour test. The standard at my hospital is a 2 hour test, with a series of blood tests and possibly the most disgusting drink ever. 

So, let’s begin at the beginning. Booking in for this test I was told to arrive as early as possible, and in the words of the midwife, “pathology opens at 7:00am, but people start arriving at 6:30am”. Great! Sounds fantastic – I would love nothing more than getting up at the crack of dawn to drink horrid crap and be drained of blood. Let’s go! Adding to this was the fact that I had to fast from 10:00pm the night before. So let’s sum up: take one pregnant woman, deny her food, make her get up crazy early, drain her of blood and ask her to wait for 2 hours. Awesome idea!

So that was pretty much the glucose test, in a nutshell. I had to get a blood test, then drink basically a bottle of sugar syrup (like lemonade to begin with, then like the most disgusting thing ever, then worse). I then waited an hour, had another blood test, waited another hour, had the last blood test. Then Mr Nester and I had breakfast out. I bloody well earned it!

I don’t find out the results until sometime this week, and if I hear from the hospital, it means I failed the test. They won’t call if I passed. So that means hoping my phone doesn’t ring until Friday, when I should be in the clear. 

There was one more element of Friday that was completely unexpected, and completely awesome. I was asked to be in a study that looks at the operation of the placenta in late pregnancy, which meant some more blood, and two extra ultrasounds. I said yes, mainly because it meant I got to see Miss Grub again. So in we went for the ultrasound, a little while after the glucose test. They measured a bunch of things, and happily Grub is measuring right on track, in the 60th percentile, so slightly bigger than average. Then, the awesome bit. The technician suggested we have a look at her face, and then…

This:  

  
3D!! I got to see a proper shot of my beautiful girl! She definitely has her Dad’s lips, and it looks like my widow’s peak as well. So exciting! Mr Nester and I were completely blown away. I spent pretty much the whole weekend just staring at this picture. The added bonus is we get to see her again in 8 weeks for the next scan, then a month after that she’ll be here for real!

Incredible. 

On that smitten note, I’ll leave you until the 29 week update, coming soon. 

Jane xx

One thought on “The Glucose Tolerance Test

Leave a comment