Pregnancy Week 33

Week: 33

Baby: A pineapple.

What I’m cooking: A baby ready to breathe! This week Grub’s lungs have pretty much fully developed, which means that if she was born now she shouldn’t need any breathing assistance. Great news!

Main symptom: A sore butt! After all the whinging from the last few weeks, this is a pretty minor complaint, but I think the combination of extra weight in my abdomen and general looseness of my joints has contributed to a seriously sore behind – I can’t sit on a normal chair for more than about 20 minutes without being in some pretty hefty levels of uncomfortableness (definitely a word). Armchairs and couches are my best friends at the moment…oh, any my bed of course. I’m having a bit of a love affair with my bed.

What’s on this week: Back to work (waaah!), but with the sweetener of my baby shower on Saturday, and knowing I only have 5 weeks until I’m on the seemingly endless stretch of maternity leave.

Week 33 comp
Sorry about the delay in posting – the first week back at work completely wiped me out, especially as I didn’t get around to getting any work done in the holidays! It’s back to full speed ahead, and unfortunately also an increase in symptoms. My itchy eyes have returned, not as bad as last time but I’m trying to keep on top of it to prevent my near insanity last time. I was also completely spoilt last week with my baby shower – saved for a separate post.
This week has been all about trying to juggle the return to work, along with increasing tiredness of being, well, pretty bloody pregnant! We had our last prenatal class this week as well, which had a lovely section on bonding with a newborn – I had no idea the amount that brand new babies try to communicate, as I’ve pretty much been told by all and sundry that they’re a blob until about 6 weeks! The video we watched showed a 4 hour old baby, and pointed out they’re attempts to connect with their parents, including:

  • Making intense eye contact for short amounts of time (the get overwhelmed after a few minutes!)
  • Reaching towards whoever they’re looking at (this increases as they get older)
  • Turning towards the sound of your voice (again, more developed after a few weeks)
  • Mouthing when you talk to mimic your movements – more of a 2 month old thing.

I was amazed at how beautiful the connection was between mother/father and the baby, so early on. I think if I can look out for those moments, it will go a long way to helping connect with Grub in the early days.

I was also back at yoga this week, where I promptly fell asleep in the relaxation and had to be nudged to wake up. Embarrassing, but I was so relaxed I didn’t care! I’m at the top end of the group now, with only one other woman further ahead than me at 38 weeks – seems it’ll be my turn soon!

In the shopping world, I’ve splashed out and bought a wrap for carrying Grub when she arrives. I had my heart set on a structured carrier, and had decided on the Manduca, but I’ve slightly changed my mind to get an interim wrap, which is more suitable for a newborn, and more lightweight. I’ve gone for a Hug-a-bub wrap, which is basically a great long piece of fabric that you tie in a really quite complicated way, that creates a lovely carrier for Grub. It looks a little daunting, but I’ve been assured once I have a go a few times I’ll get the hang of it. It’s also great for a newborn, as it allows them to be as close as possible to you, with a lot of support. These are the Manduca, and Hug-a-bub:

The Manduca carrier

The Hug-a-bub

See what I mean about the closeness in the Hug-a-bub? Hopefully I can watch the tutorial videos without throwing the thing across the room, which will give me a much better chance at actually using it! In purchasing this one, I’ve stumbled upon Facebook as a second-hand selling site – I had no idea! The amount of Buy/Swap/Sell pages that are specifically for baby carriers, or cloth nappies, or similar, are amazing! Plus you can get a much better deal through these than buying on eBay. So, being the bargain hunter I am, I bought the Hug-a-bub through Facebook, at around half the retail price. Score!

Next week brings more of the same – more work, another midwife appointment, and more of me trying to restrain myself from buying everything in every shop known to man! The internet is a dangerous place!

Jane xx

Leave a Reply

