Pregnancy Week 37

Week: 37

Baby: Celery – how healthy. This is what I need to be eating a lot of once Grub pops out, so get back to my svelte (ha!) pre-baby figure.

What I’m cooking: There’s not a lot of changes between now and birth for little Grub, she’s just stewing happily in there until she decides it’s her birthday.

Main symptom: Still achiness, along with the inability to put socks on. I’ve finally reached the stage where my feet are a bridge too far. The biggest inconvenience with this is sitting and leaning forward, where I instantly crush my already squished stomach, and feel like I’m going to vomit. Fancy.

What’s on this week: The last week of work! Tying up all the loose ends, and finalising everything for my classes so others can take over, then it’s home for good! It seems completely surreal.

Week 37 comp

I made it! I can’t believe I actually survived to the end of 37 weeks, and the end of my working stint. When I originally organised to work until 38 weeks, my thought process was along the lines of “how hard can it be? I just have to take it easier for a bit!”. Stupid, stupid Jane! Thank goodness my bump has still been pretty manageable, because I was on the verge of throwing in the towel this week, and that was with only 3 days of work (we got an extra long weekend due to Melbourne Cup). I think the biggest barrier for me was an all-encompassing desire to be home. I didn’t want to leave in the morning, and all I could think about during the day was what I wanted to be organising in the house. Call it nesting, whatever, but it has been such a strong urge this week. I feel like I can relax at home, and I can also move at my snail’s pace without being late for anything.

So I lasted through my last week, and work was wonderful – my students threw me a party and gave me presents, my colleagues took me out for dinner, and I cried on the last day knowing I’d be leaving it all for quite some time. I do tend to bitch and whinge about work quite a lot, but I work with some amazing people, and I teach some amazing kids. I’ll miss them all a lot.

Now I’m home, it all feels quite surreal – like I’m skiving off work and someone’s going to catch me out. I’ve tried to get quite a bit done this weekend in terms of going out and buying the last few bits and pieces, just in case Grub decides earlier is better and makes a hasty appearance. It also means I don’t have to go anywhere if I don’t want to – I ducked into the library on the weekend and picked up some books to keep me occupied, as well as the local craft store for some material for nappy liners and some wool in case the knitting mood strikes. That, along with all the tidying up our house needs, should keep me very busy for the next couple of weeks!

Otherwise, in baby news, I’m pretty sure Grub has officially dropped. Looking at last week’s progress shot (here) compared to this week seems to show a more gentle slope of the top of my belly, and I’m certainly breathing better. The other indicator is a lovely sensation of Grub grinding her head into my bladder, at the most inopportune moments. Luckily, this hasn’t resulted in me wetting myself (yet!), but it’s certainly not a sensation I am enjoying.

Next week we have another midwife appointment, and week 1 of maternity leave! Let’s see if I actually get anything done, or if instead I blob on the couch catching up on Netflix…only time will tell!

Jane xx

3 thoughts on “Pregnancy Week 37

  1. g2the4thpower says:

    I’m feeling the dropped sensation today too, though I haven’t taken a photo to compare yet. DW made the comment even after I had already noticed it myself. What a strange feeling. Congrats on making it to your leave from work for a little while before grub is born! I hope you’re able to rest up despite the nesting activities. Xx

Leave a Reply

